The Magical Life and adventures of Morgan le Fay

People have asked me why I chose Morgan le Fay as my protagonist rather than inventing a new character who could have embarked on a similar journey. It’s an interesting question. I’ve always loved Morgan and feel very defensive of her. I think, ultimately, the reasoning behind Morgan as the central figure of the books is her place in literary history as a much maligned character, the target of an excessive amount of fear, vitriol and venom. (See my blog article on this site for an in-depth look at the portrayal of Morgan throughout history.)

Morgan le Fay has always been a template for how women who step outside social norms have been depicted from the early Middle Ages onwards. You can almost literally trace the history of misogyny and how women were perceived at different times during the centuries through the portrayals of Morgan le Fay in literature. I want to set the record straight, reinvent her, give her her own inner life, and approach her from an enlightened 21st century perspective.

Throughout the history of literature, Morgan is almost always seen through the eyes of others. She is often either an appendage to Arthur and/or Merlin’s stories, or is inextricably linked to them in some way, even when she’s ostensibly the novel’s protagonist. In the modern era, there have been stories about her outside of an Arthurian context, but these are relatively few and far between.

Morgan has sometimes been portrayed sympathetically, but in the last decade or so, I’ve noticed the depiction of Morgan in literature and popular culture reverting back to the one-dimensional villain and an age-old, medieval-like misogyny once more – again, I feel, a sad reflection of our times.

To counter this, I am giving Morgan her own epic tale, to be told in these books, as the multi-dimensional heroine of her own life. It is a story that is the equivalent of any Arthurian or Norse saga, but centred and focused entirely on Morgan, and more often than not veering away from genre expectations and tradition.

I aim to do for Morgan what T. H. White did for Arthur in The Once and Future King, and Mary Stewart did for Merlin in her wonderful trilogy, The Crystal Cave, The Hollow Hills, and The Last Enchantment. While centering a known, mythic character, these books tell a unique, exciting, inspirational, and thought-provoking ongoing story that has never been told before, reintroducing and reinventing a timeless heroine for a new generation and a new age.

Jo-Anne Blanco Author of the Fata Morgana Series

Home       About       Books        Book I        Book II        Book III        Future Books        Author        Blog        Contact


Morgan Le Fay

Small Things and Great

A magical, folklore-inspired fantasy novel about the adventures of young Morgan le Fay, destined to become legendary Fata Morgana, fairy queen of King Arthur and Camelot fame.

When young Morgan discovers she has magic gifts, she must venture into dark and dangerous faerie realms to rescue the soul of a child fated to be reborn. Can Morgan use her new-found powers to defy the faeries and save herself from their terrible wrath?


Morgan Le Fay

Children of this World

The second in the Fata Morgana Series of historical fantasy novels, chronicling the adventures of young Morgan le Fay, gifted with magic and destined to become the great fairy queen of Arthurian and Camelot legend.

War has come to Morgan and her friends at Tintagel Castle as the King fights to keep the throne of Britain. Meanwhile, the faeries, furious with Morgan, are seeking revenge. On Samhain night, when the veil between the worlds becomes thin, Morgan must contend with terrifying forces both faerie and mortal.


Morgan Le Fay

Giants in the Earth

The third novel in the Fata Morgana Series about the life and times of young Morgan le Fay, whose magic will one day lead her to a great destiny as the most powerful fairy queen in the time of King Arthur and Camelot.

After Tintagel Castle is attacked, young Morgan is sent away to safety with her family, friends and tutor. But when bandits ambush their party, Morgan gets lost in the forest with nothing but her wits and her magic powers to rely on. In her battle for survival, she must draw upon all her gifts, magic and mortal, on a perilous journey that will test her strength, faith and loyalty to the utmost.




The Fata Morgana Series The Fata Morgana series is an epic series of novels chronicling the life and times of Morgan le Fay. Author Jo-Anne Blanco   -   contact Jo-Anne     -     all content contained within this web site is the copyright © of Jo-Anne Blanco © 2017


Jo-Anne Blanco

To contact Jo-Anne please feel free to send a general email or complete an enquiry form.

Please click here to find out more.

Book 1 Book 2 Book 3